Verse is a hardcore band from Providence, RI, who have released four albums of continually, musically progressive and socially/politically-minded punk. After a two-year hiatus from 2009 to 2011, the band returned with their best album yet, Bitter Clarity, Uncommon Grace (2012). Recorded at Machines With Magnets in their hometown, the band recorded 10 tracks that "...encompass all things Verse," vocalist Sean Murphy comments. "We always try to keep things fresh - we don't want to put the same record out over and over again. Bitter Clarity is a natural progression from our previous records; we want to do things on our own terms so we don't hit a wall like last time. We're just happy to be back to writing, recording, and having fun," Murphy continues."

Bitter Clarity, Uncommon Grace, much like Verse's previous efforts,is musically dynamic and lyrically poignant, focusing on a storyline that is "...completely human. The concept is set of life lessons shown to us by the life of a universal mother to all, wrapped in uncertainty and contradiction, and personal firsthand accounts of struggles of family and friends throughout my life," Murphy adds.  

After announcing in late 2009 that Verse would disband, the members regrouped in late 2011 and made the decision to give it another go. They had their first show back in February at AS220 in Providence, RI, with friends and labelmates Defeater and Soul Control, which was wildly received. Upon completion of recording Bitter Clarity, Uncommon Grace, Verse hit Groezrock Festival in Belgium, as well as a European tour with Soul Control in July and August. 

Verse formed in 2003 and released a demo, followed by 2004's Rebuild (Rivalry Records) and their start of a rigorous, full-time touring schedule. The critically acclaimed LP From Anger and Rage followed and over a year of straight touring continued, when the band was picked up by Bridge Nine Records in 2008. Their B9 debut, Aggression, was named an honorable mention as one of the best albums of the year Verse's subsequent breakup was announced in early 2009 and the band remained dormant until December of 2011.

Sean Murphy - Vocals • Eric Lepine - Guitar • Zak Drummond - Guitar • Chris Berg - Bass • Shawn Costa - Drums